Skills4EOSC ‘Skills for the European Open Science commons: creating a training ecosystem for Open and FAIR science’ is funded for three years by the European Commission Horizon Europe programme (Grant Agreement 101058527 –

The project is coordinated by Consortium GARR and supported by 44 partners in 18 European countries. Skills4EOSC will set up a pan-European network of competence centres to speed up the training of European researchers and harmonise the training of new professional figures for scientific data management.

The project officially started on the 1st of September 2022. Over the next three years, it will work to provide Open Science Commons and create an EOSC-ready skilled European workforce, connecting existing Competence Centres in open science and scientific data management. The aim is to develop common methodologies, activities and training resources to unify the current training landscape into a collaborative and reliable ecosystem and to provide dedicated community-specific support to leverage the potential of EOSC for open and data-intensive research.

Thanks to a consortium whose experience and practices cover all aspects of the open science data lifecycle, the project will help move the focus from basic FAIR and OS skills to the next generation of research data management and the data underlying the documents, driving real machine actionability at all levels of European research.

In this project, OPERAS leads Work Package 5: OS Skills for RIs and thematic communities. The WP is dedicated to designing and delivering advanced Open Science and Research Data Management courses tailored to the specific training needs of the scientific communities addressed by four use cases to drat recommendations for other discipline-oriented courses. 

Visit the project website:

Consortium Members

CONSORTIUM GARR (IT) – Coordinator


  • Universita Degli Studi Di Torino
  • Fondazione Istituto Italiano Di Tecnologia
  • Consiglio Nazionale Delle Ricerche
  • Politecnico Di Torino
  • Universita Degli Studi Di Trento
  • Universita’ Degli Studi Di Milano-Bicocca
  • Fondazione Centro Euro-Mediterraneosui Cambiamenti Climatici
  • Istituto Nazionale Di Fisica Nucleare
  • European Plate Observing System – European Research
  • Infrastructure Consortium
  • Istituto Nazionale Di Geofisica E Vulcanologia


  • Technische Universiteit Delft


  • Centre National De La Recherche Scientifique Cnrs
  • Universite D’aix Marseille


  • Csc-Tieteen Tietotekniikan Keskus Oy
  • Tampereen Korkeakoulusaatio Sr


  • Danmarks Tekniske Universitet
  • Aarhus Universitet
  • Det Kongelige Bibliotek, Nationalbibliotek Og Kobenhavns
  • Universitetsbibliotek
  • Copenhagen Business School
  • Syddansk Universitet
  • Aalborg Universitet


  • Universitetet I Bergen
  • Direktoratet For Hoyere Utdanning Og Kompetanse
  • Sigma2 As


  • National Infrastructures For Research And Technology
  • Etaireia Eleytheroy Logismikoy Logismikoy Anoiktoy Kodika


  • Institute Of Information And Communication Technologies


  • Institut Za Fiziku

North Macedonia

  • Ss. Cyril And Methodius University In Skopje


  • Karlsruher Institut Fuer Technologie


  • Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
  • Open Access In The European Area Through Scholarly
  • Communication – OPERAS


  • Naturhistorisches Museum
  • Technische Universitaet Wien


  • Instytut Chemii Bioorganicznej Polskiej Akademii Nauk


  • Goeteborgs Universitet
  • Umea Universitet
  • Karolinska Institutet
  • Chalmers Tekniska Hogskola Ab


  • Tartu Ulikool
  • Tallinna Tehnikaülikool


  • Universidad Carlos III de Madrid


United Kingdom

  • The University Of Edinburgh